Flank Steak Bulgogi (Korean BBQ)

10 02 2014

flank steak bulgogiSo, here’s the thing.  A few weeks ago, we experienced KOi Fusion for the first time.  A Portland food truck legend, they make some of the best Asian inspired tacos ever conceived.  We tried the Bulgogi Tacos, otherwise known as Korean BBQ Beef and they were nothing short of amazing.  I’ve had that flavor on my mind ever since.

Since we’ve been snowed/iced in for a few days, even the pizza delivery places were closed, I decided that it would be fun to try and recreate bulgogi using a flank steak that I had in the house.  I had absolutely no idea what ingredients I’d need or if we had them, and I wasn’t inclined to slip and slide my way to the store again.  Initially I was disappointed as the main ingredient in most of the recipes I’d found was crushed pear, pear puree or pear juice.  This isn’t really a common ingredient in our home so I was about to change my focus and look for something else to do when it occurred to me, my mother-in-law had canned some pears the summer before and we “might” have a jar left.  A chilly trip out to the garage confirmed YES, one jar remaining!  Here’s the details of the recipe that I used.

  • 1 Flank Steak (mine was about 1.5 lbs.)
  • 1/2 c crushed pear
  • 1/4 c yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • pinch of black pepper

Preheat broiler or get a hot fire going in your BBQ grill.

Simple enough now, put all marinade ingredients in a blender or food processor and give them a good blend.  Pour over flank steak and marinade for at least an hour, I did it for about four hours.

Now, in a perfect world, I’d have grilled this outside but due to the weather, placed it under the broiler for 5 minutes each side then rested it for another 5 minutes before slicing thin, against the grain.  I think that the grill would be the perfect option as it’d lend that smoky flavor that you expect from Korean BBQ but I was completely happy with the flavor achieved under the broiler. Enjoy!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Five Star Recipe

From My Kitchen To Yours

Siranna Angel

A Look Through My Beer Goggles

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

the winegetter

Ramblings on wine from a German in Ann Arbor

mytaste.com

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Sex and the Knitty

From My Kitchen To Yours

Grantland

Sports and pop culture from our rotating cast of writers

Miss Chris Creations

Eating Should Be Fun!

physical life

by his resurrection from the dead... Rom 1:4

