Rollos (Bolivian Cheese Pastry)

9 11 2012

So, I was looking through my church’s library recently and came across a cookbook published in the early 90’s called “Extending the Table…” It builds the theme of doing more with less.  Many of the recipes in the book use very inexpensive and easy to source ingredients and I’m rather liking going through it to see how over-thought and over-done much of today’s food is.  It’s so true that sometimes you really can do more with less.

I came to a stop when glancing through the index which is organized by geography, and I’d found one from Bolivia. My wife Katie spent a year during her college years working in Bolivia.  She has many loves and great memories from her time there and I thought it might be neat to try and recreate something that would be familiar from there.

Here’s the catch, I REALLY don’t bake, like EVER.  I looked it over, it seemed easy and straightforward so I figured I’d give it a go.  Rollos are a street food cheese roll, often sold at bus stops to those who are travelling.  This is an adaptation.

Sift:

  • 4 Cups flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp sugar

Add:

  • 1/2 Cup butter
  • 1 Cup warm milk
  • 4 egg yolks (reserve whites)

Mix well.  Divide dough in half.  Pat out half in greased 13×9″ pan

In separate bowl, beat until foamy:

  • 4 egg whites

Add:

  • 1 lb grated cheese (monterey jack or cheddar will both work fine)

Mix.  Spread half of cheese mixture on dough in pan.  Pat out rest of dough on cheese layer and spread remaining cheese mixture on top.  Bake at 350 degrees about 30 minutes or until golden brown.  Cut in to squares to serve.

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 11 2012
nancy

How did it turn out for you? Looks delicious! I have that book too if you ever want it to borrow. I like the international themes!

10 11 2012
Thomas Leggate

Turned out great. I really like the geographic index, nice way to troll for new stuff to try.

16 01 2014
nancy friesen

hmmm, funny, this afternoon while looking for Bolivian or S. American soups and breads, I found this recipe in E. the T. and decided to make it for our Sister Care International lunch on 1-25-14. I wonder what adding a can of green chilies would do to the bread. Probably good but not Bolivian flavor!

Leave a Reply

Five Star Recipe

From My Kitchen To Yours

Siranna Angel

A Look Through My Beer Goggles

cookinandshootin

"It's so beautifully arranged on the the plate - you know someone's fingers have been all over it." - Julia Child

the winegetter

Ramblings on wine from a German in Ann Arbor

mytaste.com

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Sex and the Knitty

From My Kitchen To Yours

Grantland

Sports and pop culture from our rotating cast of writers

Miss Chris Creations

Eating Should Be Fun!

physical life

by his resurrection from the dead... Rom 1:4

